Author Interview on Fangtastic Books Blog

Fangtastick Books: http://www.fang-tasticbooks.blogspot.com/

Can you tell readers a little bit about yourself and what inspired to write in this particular genre?

I come from a very diverse cultural background. My mother is French and Guadeloupian and my father is Haitian. I am the proud mother of three boys who my entire family calls the wolf pack. My boys are loving, adventurous, intelligent, and live to make me laugh. I have been married for 12 years and spend my free time harassing my husband.

What is it about the paranormal, in particular vampires, that fascinates you so much?

The paranormal world is all about the power of secrets. You don’t know you are being hunted unless someone tells you. Vampires and other paranormal creatures are powerful but can be weakened by the right man or woman.  The Beacons are not vampires, but they come very close.

What inspired you to write this book?

My cultural background and hometown inspired this story. Immokalee Florida is a small migrant community that is full of diverse cultures, good food, and hidden adventures.

Please tell us about your latest release.

Beacon of Sound is a story that reveals how people can avoid the truth even if it is wrapped in bright green paper. Marie DeLou has spent years living behind the illusion of a perfect life. She is so convinced that her world is perfect that she ignores the truth until it is too late.  The story is complicated, romantic, erotic, and funny.

Is there a character that you enjoyed writing more than any of the others?

I loved writing Marie’s character. She is sarcastic, stubborn, and sexy. She is my idea of a perfect woman.

What is your favorite scene from the book? Could you share a little bit of it, without spoilers of course?

My favorite scene is when Marie is given the opportunity to play a Stradivarius cello. When it comes to cellos, Marie is worse than a man sitting in a fully nude strip club. She is greedy and will even avoid using good sense just to get her hands on a cello. Basically, she sets herself up for failure in the scene with the cello.  Marie can play the cello as long as she sits on someone’s lap. In her mind, she is a professional and can play sitting on a man’s lap. Yeah, right Marie.

With the book being part of a series, are there any character or story arcs, that readers jumping in somewhere other than the first book, need to be aware of? Can these books be read as stand alones?

Beacon of Sound is the first book in a five-book series. Each book can be read alone as long as the reader reads the character names and definitions at the end of the book. There will be recaps about each character in the next books. Readers who plan on following the series, keep an eye on the guardian Ethera aka the great Ether. She has a lot of dangerous secrets.

Do any of your characters have similar characteristics of yourself in them and what are they?

Marie is an extreme version of me and my best friend combined. I mixed both of our insane personalities and came up with Marie DeLou. I am stubborn, sarcastic, and sometimes impulsive. My best friend is the same plus loves food.

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? How do you deal with it?

I usually read the section I am working on to my husband or email it to my book club. Their feedback helps me move past my writer’s block. If all else fails, I eat chocolate and drink plum wine.

Do you have any weird writing quirks or rituals?

How do you define weird? I have jumped out of bed a 3 a.m. to write something down so I won’t forget to put it in my story. Is that weird?

(RR- I think that’s normal for an author LOL I do it all the time)

Do you write in different genres?

I am currently sticking to paranormal, romance, and fantasy. I may tackle different genres in the future. Currently, I don’t have the patience required to write a mystery or historical. I am always eager to give my readers all the answers.

Do you find it difficult to write in multiple genres?
I just follow my stories. Sometimes, the stories lead to different genres and I respect my work enough to just let it happen.

When did you consider yourself a writer?

I have been writing since childhood but did not consider myself a writer until I published Beacon of Sound. I didn’t give into the stories until I ignored my fears and decided to give my work to the world.

What are your guilty pleasures in life?

Takara Plum wine must always be present in my house. It is a guilty pleasure I refuse to give up. I love dark chocolate and will do anything to get it. My husband takes full advantage of my weakness for wine and chocolates. Honestly, I would trade the best chocolate in the world for a good massage. I love massages.

Other than writing, what are some of your interests, hobbies or passions in life?

I am currently finishing my Masters in mental health counseling. I also make jewelry when I am not writing. My family is my primary passion in life.

Where is your favorite place to read? Do you have a cozy corner or special reading spot?

I love to read on my couch with a cup of Earl Grey Moonlight tea and a thick comforter across my legs.

What can readers expect next from you?

I am currently working on Hearts Unbound. It is a contemporary romance with a small paranormal element.  Ramon lost his wife tragically and refuses to move on. He tries to hold on to her memory while his mind and body want to love Sophia. It is a story full of laughs and tears, but they eventually figure it out.

Beacon Holiday is the first novella in the Noir Dera Series. The story gives you more info about Marie and the rest of the Beacons. True to form, Marie causes all kinds of chaos in this novella.

– See more at: http://fang-tasticbooks.blogspot.com/2014/10/interview-beacon-of-sound-by-rm-garry.html#sthash.e3iQRGNE.dpuf

Leave a Reply

